Kansas Reduces Marijuana Penalties

Published: 17 October 2016 | 3:33PM

By reducing offense classifications for simple possession offenses, the Kansas Legislature recently reduced the penalties for certain marijuana crimes.

Under prior law, a first offense for simple possession of marijuana (possession with no intent to distribute) was classified as a class A misdemeanor; it carried a maximum penalty of one year in jail and a fine up to $2,500. A second offense for simple possession was a felony punishable 10 to 42 months in prison, depending on the offender’s criminal history.

Under the new law, a first-time marijuana possession offense is a class B misdemeanor; maximum jail time is 6 months—half the maximum punishment under the old law. Second-time possession penalty is now a class A misdemeanor. A third offense is still a felony.

These are significant modifications for simple possession offenses, but the classifications of other marijuana offenses (e.g. distribution, possession with intent to distribute, etc.) remain unchanged.

Any criminal conviction can have consequences beyond the sentence imposed. If you have been accused of a crime, seek legal advice immediately.

Call Joseph, Hollander & Craft LLC’s criminal defense attorneys in Wichita, Topeka, Lawrence, Overland Park & Kansas City, KS.

Our Locations

Kansas City | 816-673-3900

926 Cherry St
Kansas City, MO 64106

Lawrence | 785-856-0143

5200 Bob Billings Pkwy, #201
Lawrence, KS 66049

Overland Park | 913-948-9490

10104 W 105th St
Overland Park, KS 66212

Topeka | 785-234-3272

1508 SW Topeka Blvd
Topeka, KS 66612

Wichita | 316-262-9393

500 N Market St
Wichita, KS 67214

Contact Joseph, Hollander & Craft LLC

Contact Joseph, Hollander & Craft to discuss how our team of attorneys can help you.

This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.